On the Fence in Cougar Town

May 2, 2010

There was a time in the early episodes when I had completely decided to give up on Cougar Town.  But I cannot give up on any show until the end of the season.  Then there is the inevitable cliff-hanger, which usually brings me back for the next season!  In fact, I can’t think of many shows that I started watching from the beginning and then just stopped (especially mid-season!).  But Cougar Town may be the first.

Like the title of this post says, I’m still undecided.  In the beginning, it was pretty bad.  Then it sort of found itself and became more of an ensemble-type show.  That was a good move, because a show about an woman in her forties dating younger men was not going to make it.  But I still can’t get on board with the characters.  And are there really people out there like Jules?  If there are, clearly I do not know any of them, nor do I want to because they are annoying!

I may have a bias in this case, because I want Courtney Cox to be the lovable neurotic I knew on Friends.  But she is not!  She’s just a self-absorbed, wino in her forties.  She seems to love her friends and family, but not enough to take the spotlight off herself once in a while.  So am I committed to watch a whole further season about such a woman, even if there are more characters other than just her?

Here are the pros of the show (why I would keep watching):

  • It’s moderately funny.
  • Sometimes I like Ellie’s character (but really don’t buy her as a new mom)
  • Travis is OK; good foil for his crazy parents
  • I don’t like not watching sitcoms that everybody is talking about

Cons (why I might drop it):

  • It’s pretty stupid most of the time.
  • Jules
  • Laurie
  • Grayson (womanizer who falls for Jules enough to change his ways?  Again, don’t buy it.)
  • Andy
  • Bobby

What are your reasons for watching (or not watching) this show?  Help me to decide whether or not to continue with it.

Leave a Reply

